PDA

View Full Version : Underwater navigation course

quarkuud
02-08-2008, 18:48
I'm thinking of doing an underwater navigation course in a couple of weeks so I won't be quite so lost underwater. Has anyone taken this? Is it useful?

I can read a compass fine, but I'm not good at estimating distance or swimming straight.

SkuaSeptember
02-08-2008, 19:01
I'd say that if you're not good at estimating distance or following a straight course, the UW Nav. course would be of great benefit.
Topics covered should be estimating distance by time, air consumption, kick cycles and arm spans. Also, you will work on compass navigation and natural navigation as well as a combination of the two. you will then run a number of different patterns using various methods and hopefully under varied conditions.

whse56
02-08-2008, 20:50
Sounds like a good course. Do they cover how to compensate for swimming through cross currents and maintaining course?

fisheater
02-08-2008, 20:54
That's the first specialty I'm planning on taking.

Around here, the viz is never that great, so you won't see which way back to the beach / boat without surfacing.

So. Compass it is. Unless you WANT to be at the mercy of your buddy.

SkuaSeptember
02-08-2008, 21:04
Sounds like a good course. Do they cover how to compensate for swimming through cross currents and maintaining course?
They certainly should. Think along the line of waypoints.

quarkuud
02-09-2008, 00:44
Awesome, that sounds like just what I need. I'll try to take the next one.

cummings66
02-09-2008, 14:35
It's worth the effort to learn and it could someday save your life.

KGNickl
02-09-2008, 18:49