Thread: Proper Weighting

Guppy

Proper Weighting

Hi Ladies! I'm new to diving and this forum. I have my final written test and pool session next weekend then have OW cert over Memorial Day weekend. I am having a blast!

My challenge is that I am a lot more buoyant in my older years then I was when I was a young fish. Things are changing and I float... something I never could do before. I have a lot of trouble getting my body to go down and stay there.

I find my feet/legs tend to float up. We worked on buoyancy yesterday and I had a really difficult time. I had 8 lbs of hard weights on a web belt.

I am thinking of getting a weight harness and try ankle weights. I figure if I can get my weighting under control and then keep them consistent that would be a good thing.

Is this a good way to go or should I focus on other things first? Did anyone else have this challenge and if you did what did you do?

DiverMom

Moderator Founding Member
    ST-Forum Mod
    Hi DiverMom! Welcome to ST!!!
    I haven't had any first hand experience with what is going on with you, but I did find this old thread with some good tips on sinking. Hopefully it'll help you out. http://forum.scubatoys.com/scuba-sto...-how-sink.html
    Here's another older thread that talks about feet floating up. http://forum.scubatoys.com/womens-is...oating-up.html There are several people that recommend ankle weights in that thread and I know several people would disagree with that advice. Some people say that using ankle weights are like using a band aide and it doesn't correct the problem. Just food for thought. Good luck and let us know if you get it figured out.
    If I can't scuba then what's this whole thing about, what am I working toward? - Creed "The Office"

Grouper