Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: buying first tank?

buying first tank?

im new to diving and am now looking to buy because renting all season doesnt make sence. i will be driftdiving and diving primarilly aroung niagara, and lake erie,maybe canada. any suggestions on tank size and type? also aluminum or steel? i hear alot about both. i just dont want to make the wrong choice. thanks
    dive right.enjoy what life has. thank a vet.

Grand Master Spammer Founding Member
    Aluminum is cheap, but needs more lead (they're floaty) and doesn't hold a huge amount of gas.

Steel is expensive, but much heavier, so you actually don't need to carry as much lead. Plus they're available in much larger capacities.

As to which one is better, that depends on you (what size are you, a huge hulking dude who can carry a water heater on his back, or a petite female who prefers the smallest lightest tank possible), how cold the water is you dive, salt water vs. fresh, what depths you plan to explore, whether you're schlepping the tanks on hikes down cliffs for a shore dive, or rolling them on a dolly onto charter boats.

My generic answer is it's hard to go wrong with the HP100 galvanized tank for nearly all divers in all conditions. Give us more info and I'll tell you why.

Barracuda
    Images
    With CD on his generic answer too. HP100 "galvanized tank" is the way to go for me.

The fabers are okay, but the rust gets under the paint and for a white tank, it become scratch plus some people love to draw silly stuff on my tank too.
    Now a trimix diver!

Fo those of you who hate the Faber triple coated tanks I recommend you take a trip to the Himilayas and find a guru who can teach you how to stop worrying so much. My tanks will probably still be here when I'm long gone even if they do have few paint scratches.

Barracuda
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by BouzoukiJoe View Post