Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is the ideal bouyancy situation for free diving?

Guppy

What is the ideal bouyancy situation for free diving?

Should I be neutral bouyant at water surface? Or should I be negative or positive bouyant by how many lbs? Thanks.

Grouper
    Images
    I'm no expert but I would think neutral or maybe a touch positive at the surface. That is assuming your wearing a wetsuit. Just my $.02

Grouper
    If I remember correctly, free divers weight themselves so they are neutrally buoyant at 20 feet. Most of the shallow water blackouts that occur in free diving occurs in 20 feet of water or less so being neutrally buoyant at 20 feet means you have a greater chance of floating to the surface if you blackout.

It's hard to say how much weight you will need as it varies from person to person, just as in scuba diving.

Guppy
    Quote Originally Posted by Vlane View Post
    If I remember correctly, free divers weight themselves so they are neutrally buoyant at 20 feet. Most of the shallow water blackouts that occur in free diving occurs in 20 feet of water or less so being neutrally buoyant at 20 feet means you have a greater chance of floating to the surface if you blackout.

It's hard to say how much weight you will need as it varies from person to person, just as in scuba diving.
    I thought it's slightly positive at the surface too... I've been checking out free diving videos and folks seem to be able to have their head stick out of water and just stay there without upward pushing (sometimes with fish in the air too)...

Grouper
    Quote Originally Posted by sfbluestar View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Vlane View Post

I thought it's slightly positive at the surface too... I've been checking out free diving videos and folks seem to be able to have their head stick out of water and just stay there without upward pushing (sometimes with fish in the air too)...