Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Purpose of Diving Luggage

TadPole

Purpose of Diving Luggage

I have not traveled with my own gear yet as I am new to diving so I do not have this experience yet but what is the purpose of diving luggage? Could you not just use luggage that you already own? I have seen some nice looking bags online but they are just under or over $200 and so it seems like it could be a waste of money to buy a suitcase that is meant only for diving gear if a regular suitcase would work. Please let me know your thoughts on this.

Grand Poobah Founding Member
    ST-Forum Mod
    Scuba gear is going to be wet... most standard suitcases or bags are not necessarily going to be rust proof. And dive bigs are setup for the different gear, like dedicated pockets that fit fins, etc.

Shark Founding Member
    Enid, Oklahoma (no longer living the desert life)
    Images
    Yep, what Larry said.

My Oceanic bags have a plastic liner, vent holes, and large roller wheels on stainless steel rods. Saltwater and cheap luggage is a bad combo.
    Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony.

Shark
    But you can also buy a lot of cheap luggage for what some of the even lesser expensive dive bags cost. Not to mention they almost scream "I have something really expensive inside me."

I have had no issues with standard luggage and packing dive gear. To travel though, I have to mix dive gear with clothes in the same bags in order to come in under weight...
    -cody / on vacation from vacation...
    PADI MSDT Instructor, US Coast Guard Captain - Master Near Coastal

I've always used my standard Delsey suitcases for all my dive trips. Have never had a problem. The gear is usually fairly dry before I pack, but if I'm concerned, I just pack the dirty clothes around it anyway. The luggage gets a good airing when we get home, and a quick spray with Lysol.