Thread: Computers that vibrate or how visual alarms

Computers that vibrate or how visual alarms

I just completed my open water dives this last weekend. I am getting ready to buy some equipment. The dive computer on the gear for the open water dives was a brand was a genesis. It had audible warning tones. While others were talking about having heard them I didnít. Can anyone recommend one that flashes, vibrates, or keeps the tone on until you turn it off. The only one I have found is a Tusa IQ that has vibration but itís about $700. I am looking a wrist mounted models. It may have been a fluke or the model on the consoles but I like the idea of a good solid depth and ascent warning since I am just getting started.

Grouper
    Dive Rite NItek Duo/Trio I THINK keep the audible alarm on until you stop ascending too fast or whatever you're violating.

Are you sure you violated a rule or something? Maybe your computer just didn't go off.

Shark
    all my atom 2 does is flashes a warning. It did this the other day when going up. I stopped and it went off. I use the wrist type and watch it non stop on the way down and up. thoug I doubt I would hear it if it had an alarm. We were divng at mermet which has under water music and I never heard it, though my dad did.

No I don't think I actually would have set my own off. Everyone else was complaining though about all the alarms going off in the water. I never heard any of them. Maybe just concentration. Being new and cautious, I do like the idea of as much warning as possible. I guess the other way is always have a dive buddy with super hearing.

Guppy
    That's why I really love my Tusa. I can ignore all that other noise pollution in the ocean and just wait for that vibrate on the wrist. Its always funny to watch 5 or 6 divers all looking at their computers to see who is beeping about what. It just surprises me that more manufacturers do not offer that feature.

Shark