Thread: Mares Raptor Fin (Limited Review)

Grouper Founding Member

Mares Raptor Fin (Limited Review)

All right, keep in mind that I have little experience with fins in general, but this will hold some over until someone can give a better review.

My fins: Black Apollo Bio fins w/spring straps
    Borrowed fins: Red Mares Raptor fins with standard straps

Hand test:

First off, they weigh about the same. The biggest difference just from handling them was the Bio Fins were a bit more flexible. You could feel that difference in the water, but it wasn't as noticeable as I thought it would be. I didn't like the feel of the Raptor compared to the Bio, but it didn't really didn't matter once on my feet.

Foot Test:

Obviously, the spring straps on my Bios were an unfair comparison, so it's hard to fault the Raptor for the straps. The new Mares buckle worked great for what it was. It was easy to get on and off my foot. It tightened up nice and felt good on my feet. I read that the buckle was a problem on previous Mares models, but I never had any issues with these for the test. I was worried that the Mares wouldn't fit my foot as well as the Bios because the size range was so different. Mares Regular: 6-13 vs Bio Fin Large: 10-11, it wasn't an issue though for my wide 10.5 feet. Both fit great.

Pool Test:

Advantage Bios. Although it wasn't a huge overall difference, the more rigid Mares fins didn't feel as comfortable as the Bios when doing a few laps underwater. Don't get me wrong here, the Raptors were good, I am just afraid it would be a lot more noticeable on a 3-day trip where you're using them constantly. If you're into the more rigid fin, then these are probably the perfect fins for you!

Pee Test: