Thread: help choosing

Guppy

help choosing

I know this has been discussed before but would still like some more opinions.
    My wife and I are working with ST on getting our 1st drysuits.

We like wreck diving and are thinking about getting into tech. We dont do any penetration and probably wont. Maybe some day cavern and cave(big maybe).

We are leaning towards Hollis. Does anyone have experience with a hollis drysuit? Or feel free to chime in on what you use and why u like it. We also want to be able to use it in warm water so we need something we can change the thermal protection for warm or cold water.

Grouper
    First off just wanna say that i have no experience with hollis so my suggestions will be other brand oriented.

Ok with that outa the way lets have a look at the first major consideration. Neoprene or Shell.

There will always be an argument between one and the other but here is my opinion. Shell suit all the way and here is why. Neoprene compresses at depth and loses its thermal properties. Its heavy and takes forever to dry. I find you are way less flexible and take more weight to get under the water.

With a shell suit, you are much more flexible, the suit is light, takes less weight to get under, dries fast. Also good for warm water diving as well as cold depending on the thermal protection you choose to wear.

Big thing to remember is your thermal protection is going to come from the underware that you choose and not the suit. A drysuit is ment to keep you dry and thats it.