Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Old air?

Grouper
    Images

Old air?

I hate to admit this, but my last logged dives were on 5/20/10. I finally have time to go diving next week, and I have 6 tanks in my garage full of air from last year. My LDS said that I shouldn't use air over 6 months old; is this true? I can understand that issues could arise from nitrox mixes in corroding steel tanks, but these are all filled with regular air (3 lp 95 steel tanks, 2 al 80's, and an LP 120 that I probably won't use). Can I safely dive the existing air before taking them in for this year's vis inspections? Professional opinions or research citations would be appreciated.

Megalodon
    Images
    I'm not a pro, but unless someone can quote a study that I haven't found, I'd say go ahead and dive the tanks. IF: the tanks had air from a reliable source and you trust that source. I've dove 8-9 month old air a number of times with no problems. I did a pool dive with 3 year old air once and had no noticable odors or problems.

I once saved a man in Wichita just to watch him dive...(inventor)

Images
    I don't have any scientific data to draw on, but I wouldn't have a problem using these tanks. I guess the question is, does the air "go bad". Thinking through this - how? If it is a sealed environment, nothing can get in. Maybe if there was water in the tank and then maybe mold could grow. That is a stretch in my mind because the tank is under pressure. If that could happen, it could happen very quickly and would be an issue that I'm sure we would hear about.

Like you, I would like to see some "real data" backing this up. Did the LDS give any explanation?

Snagel

Grouper
    Images
    I have used are that was 30 years old. No problem with air that is just 1 year old. Air does not have an expiration date.

Barracuda Founding Member