Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Best option for cheap, useful, Primary dive light

TadPole

Best option for cheap, useful, Primary dive light

I was thinking of getting a UK SL4 when I noticed that there was a DYI to LED out there. I couldnt find the right plug-in module to make it work so it brought me to this question:
    Is it worth doing?! I can just buy the 50 dollar light and be done with it.

I wouldnt need anything too massive as I'm primarily a vacation diver who does some night dives and HOPES to get out to north carolina for some wrecks one day.

IF it's worth it, can you specify which drop-in mod is correct for which light?
    I'm new to this and dont want to solder anything.

Grouper
    I just ditched a couple of halcyon scouts and picked up a new hollis LED light......an absolutely great light and very bright.

Hollis Gear: LED5 Torch

it is about 100 bucks though, but you can get a smaller one for a bit cheaper.

Hollis Gear: LED Mini3

Diving Backup Lights - Dive Gear Express

My personal preference is a twist bezel light.....much easier to use.

Grouper
    No, not really worth the trouble, try this Diving Cree SSC-P7-C-SXO 3-Mode 900-Lumen LED Flashlight Kit (2*18650/4*CR123A/4*16340) - Free Shipping - DealExtreme
    If you want to DIY measure the module, find something close but smaller that will fit ie:Cree XP-G R5 320-Lumen White Light LED Drop-in Module (26.5mm*29.3mm/18V Max) - Free Shipping - DealExtremeand make a spacer up of scrap aluminium tube. The voltage has to be reversed on some modules so be careful.
    P.S Try this, XTAR D06 looks good, a friend just bought a couple for video lights.
    Any dive you survive is a good dive

Barracuda
    Images