Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grand Cayman trip

Grouper
    Images

Images
    Great pics! Will be in Grand Cayman next month. (One day excursion on a cruise) Got my mouth watering already!

Snagel

Grouper
    Images
    dolphin point and trinity caves were the two best dives we did on the SMB side. I highly recommend Deep Blue Divers as a dove op real close to the cruise ship landing.

Grouper
    Images
    I'm going to give a very brief report on trip to Cayman because this was my 1st time there so I'm no expert but maybe this info can help.

We stayed in WestBay at the Shangri La B&B highly recommended away from the SMB area but very close to everything within 10-15 minutes of George Town.

Dove with Deep Blue Divers in Geore Town. Excellent dive op allowed you to dive your computer and air provided what assistance was needed but no hand holding if you didn't need it. Small,fast boats we had a max of 7 divers on a given day. 1st dive usually to 100 fsw 2nd dive 40-50 fsw.

Dive sites in order of best to worse (IMHO)

1.Dolphin Point
    2.Trinity Caves
    3. Kittiwake
    4.Eagle Ray Pass
    5.Armchair Reef
    6.Eagles Nest
    Two more I forgot the name of.

Eating places.
    what we found is you could spend a whole lot on meals if you chose to do so but it wasn't required to have a good meal. We spent less than $100 per day for 2 on food. We did have a breakfast provied by the B&B but I only had one as the dives started early. Also we limited ourselves to one beer and one mixed drink apiece so that keeps the price down.

1. Chicken Chicken- great little restaurant for lunch $23 for two
    2. Triple Crown Pub- a little loud but great fish and chips and meat pies for lunch.
    3. AlFresco- great little place in Westbay that has a deck right over the beach and fantastic food at very reasonable prices.(we ate there 3 times)
    4. Agave Grill- wonderful Mexican food in a industrial area