Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just a few questions about gear configurations

Just a few questions about gear configurations

Hello Divers,
    I am new to diving. I will be starting my certification class this weekend. 6/8/12. Needless to say I am extremely excited. My questions are about eqipment options, I was just wanting to get an idea of what other divers were using. I recently purchased some equipment online. I got a zeagle ranger BC, with a dacor reg, and a old orca dive computer. I just got all the gear serviced, and it works fine, (suprising considering the price I paid) Coming off my first stage Reg, I have my 2nd stage regulator, low pressure inflator/deflator, and the orca computer. No gauges. I am a little uneasy about going down with just a computer. Is it a standard practice to have a computer, and gauges, or do most divers just rely on one or the other. It would seem like common sense to have a back up of some form, but just wanted to get a feel for what others thought. This would probably be a good question for my instructor this weekend also, I was just bored and new to this site, and wanted to post thread to say HI!! Any comment appreciated

Images
    I use two computers. I wouldn't dive without some sort of backup.
    --Zeagle Eagle

Megalodon
    Images
    I'm also in favor of a back up and won't dive without one. Either 2 computers, a computer and bottom timer (UWATEC) or computer and watch.

I once saved a man in Wichita just to watch him dive...(inventor)

Barracuda
    Images
    It's nice to have a second computer but I dove for a long time with just cheap dive watch as a backup. You have to remember that if the computer dies you end the dive and you out of the water for at least 24 to 48 hours. I think you will find that the majority of rec divers only have one computer.
    - Dennis ><()))">

The following equipment will be considered a minimum requirement for your diving course.

• Fins, mask and snorkel