Thread: Help buying new torch

TadPole

Question Help buying new torch

Hi,
    I'm a newbie on night and/or low visibility diving, and since I'm planning do some of these in a very near future I'm thinking on buying a torch that can be not too big, as powerful as possible, robust and, of course, not too expensive.
    Right now I'm thinking on this particular one:

http://assemtron.co.uk/

Does anyone know it? Is it ok?
    Thanks in advance.

TadPole
    Quote Originally Posted by alph View Post
    Hi,
    I'm a newbie on night and/or low visibility diving, and since I'm planning do some of these in a very near future I'm thinking on buying a torch that can be not too big, as powerful as possible, robust and, of course, not too expensive.
    Right now I'm thinking on this particular one:

http://assemtron.co.uk/

Does anyone know it? Is it ok?
    Thanks in advance.
    I don't know it but from looking at the website, these are my thoughts:

1. The integral notepad is a waste of space.
    2. 120 minutes (two hours) of battery life is poor. I use my dive light on every dive and if I bought this one, I would have to switch the battery every two dives.

I would suggest a company or two, but I am not familiar with what is on the market in the UK. Take a trip to your local dive shop and see what they have to offer. Even if the lights there aren't in your price range, I'm sure it will give you a starting point of what to look for in a light. Good luck!

TadPole
    I just noticed that Hollis is sold in the UK as well so be sure to check out the LED6 Torch (ST), it is a excellent light with a great price and if you want a bigger light down the road, it will be a nice backup.

--
    Riley

I'd have to +1 what riley has said. Keep the dive light simple.

• The notepad feature seems unnecessary if you are keeping it simple.
    • Most dive lights are designed not to turn on in your kit bag; this should not cost more.