Thread: Ranger VS Tech 10 VS Covert

TadPole

Ranger VS Tech 10 VS Covert

I am new to scuba diving (I am not even certified yet), but I want to get all my gear asap because I am just excited to start. I am pretty much settling on Zeagle for my first BCD since they seem to make the best BCDs overall. I am debating on getting the Ranger, Tech 10 or Covert. I am not even sure how much lift I would need for any condition, but I do plan to do some traveling with my scuba gear. Is the Tech 10 overkill for a beginner? I do like the Coverts small streamline and travel friendly design, but will 32 pounds of lift be enough for Socal water diving? I eventually want to do spearfishing and other activities.

The lift on the Covert for cold water diving is likely right on the edge of what you'll need in SoCal or even a little under since you'll be diving a very buoyant wetsuit - or drysuit - and need a lot more weight to sink. An additional factor is the Covert only comes with 16lb weight capacity in the pockets. And they're not changeable. You'll need more weight than in SoCal that so will need to add a weight belt. Nice travel option though, I've seen one come out of a carry-on all rolled up on a boat once.

A Ranger with the 44# wing is more in line with what's needed in SoCal - I know several people out there that have one. It also has both the front and rear weight pockets and I believe the combined capacity is 52lbs. - more than you'll ever need. I have a friend with a Ranger - he's about 6' 200lbs. and dives it in SoCal in a 7mil suite with a jacket over it. I own an LTD also and would have no issues diving it in SoCal except I don't dive there.