Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Dive Rite NiTek Duo

  1. #1
    TadPole
    Join Date
    09/24/2007
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    11

    Dive Rite NiTek Duo

    Anyone use one of these? Looks like a nice 2 gas computer for only $389. I would be interested to hear some feedback.

  2. #2
    Grouper
    Join Date
    07/31/2007
    Location
    Austin,TX
    Posts
    963
    Very nice computer when it works. There have been some reliability issues.
    Get the Tusa IQ -700 instead. Same computer but has a 2 year warranty.

  3. #3
    Shark Founding Member
    Join Date
    07/13/2007
    Location
    Enid, Oklahoma (no longer living the desert life)
    Posts
    2,927
    Images
    46
    What Ian said. I have a DUO and love it, but the TUSA is the EXACT same computer with a different name on it. ST carries both.

    As for the computer itself, I'm very happy with mine.

    FD

  4. #4
    Shark Founding Member
    Join Date
    07/12/2007
    Location
    DFW-USA
    Age
    64
    Posts
    2,372

    Thumbs up

    They are really nice dive computers....gee I have one with the brand name Dive Rite and one branded Tusa!! I did have one go south 3.5 years ago....was replaced no questions asked. The reason I like them is they offer everything a diver really needs and more, without the fluff so many other computers have....easy to read with good sized screen. The only thing I can say to the negative side....is I wish the back lighting of the screen was a bit better,,,,I dive dark and low vis location much of the time,,,,it is ok but probably could be brighter. Would give a thumbs up to the Duo!
    PADI Divemaster, TDI Advanced Trimix

  5. #5
    TadPole
    Join Date
    09/18/2007
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2
    On my 2nd. The first one crapped out at 130ft while I was doing deco dive on a course. I was diving to a plan, on tables, with a backup computer and so it didn't really matter, but if you dive solely on your computer, it's worth taking note.

    I haven't had any problems with the replacement and I've heard that the problems were related to a bad batch that had poor button seals.

    In terms of functionality, I really like the thing. The numbers are really big, easy to read, and the gas switching is OK, even in dry gloves.

    One of the things I really like about it is that it holds a gas setting for the day. Other computers I've had require you to re-enter your mixes for every dive. If you forget, they locks into PO2 fault mode and that's if for the day. With the Duo/7000/Quantum, if you are doing a second dive (using the same set of doubles, or another tank with the same mix), you don't have to fiddle with your computer which is nice.
    Last edited by darkstar; 10-02-2007 at 12:26.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tusa IQ-700 or Dive Rite NiTek Duo? same computer?
    By mike_s in forum Computers and Gauges
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 08-22-2008, 00:51
  2. Opinions on the Dive Rite Nitek Plus?
    By przeor in forum Computers and Gauges
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-13-2007, 14:06
  3. dive rite nitek software
    By scubasamurai in forum How do I fix this?
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 14:27
  4. How Rite Is Dive Rite?
    By MANTAMAN5093 in forum Mask / Snorkels / Fins
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 19:55
  5. dive rite
    By scubasamurai in forum BC's - Buoyancy Compensators - Stab Jackets
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-30-2007, 14:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •