Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: little white specks

little white specks

i got my camera a few days ago, and sometimes when i take pics, i get these little white specks all over the pic. they aren't real noticeable, but still they are there. I notice that it sometimes does it when i use the strobe. The camera is mostly auto, but you can adjust the WB,and ISO on one setting. So any ideas to figure out how to keep it from doing that would be helpful.

and can someone kind of explain to me how the ISO works. the camera has settings for 50, 100, 200, 300, 400 800, and 1600.

I'm new to all this lingo, and even newer and knowing how it works.

I tried posting a pic with the little specks, but it kept locking my computer up, so i finally gave up.
    The only things in life you regret, are the Chances you don't take..----Jack Lemmon

Dominus Diabolus Urinatoris ST-Forum Mod DevilDiver's Avatar
    Images
    Most likley you are talking about backscatter. This is caused from the cameras built-in flash hitting particles in the water between the subject and the camera.
    This can be corrected with adding an external strobe or strobes and blocking or turning off the cameras built-in flash.
    DevilDiver

Barracuda
    Images
    I would agree with DevilDiver on the spots, but need to see an image.

The most likely issue with the down load is that you are trying to down load a really large image file... you should resize to say 800 x 600 (a copy, not the original) and then try.

ISO - is the same thing as "film speed". The higher the number, the less light is needed to take a picture.

But higher also means a noisier picture.

If you could, you would shoot everything in the lowest number possible - usually 100 or less. But, if you don't have enought light (from the sun and/or strobe), you either don't take the picture or raise the ISO value.

Like shutter speed, the number is in powers of 2 - so: